Trending News Guru

Bracewell Assumes NZ Captaincy for T20I Series Versus Pakistan

Bracewell Assumes NZ Captaincy for T20I Series Versus Pakistan

Michael Bracewell is set to lead New Zealand for the first time as the selectors have unveiled a 15-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Pakistan. Tim Robinson has earned his maiden call-up, while the squad also features uncapped player Will O’Rourke.

Meanwhile, New Zealand will be missing several key players who are either unavailable due to their commitments in the IPL or for other reasons. Players such as Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, and Kane Williamson are all engaged with different IPL teams. Additionally, Will Young, Tom Latham, Tim Southee, and Colin Munro were also unavailable for selection.

The New Zealand T20I squad comprises Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (WK), and Ish Sodhi.

Bracewell Takes Helm as NZ Captain for T20I Series Against Pakistan

Bracewell will be making his first international appearance since March 2023 due to a ruptured Achilles and a broken finger that kept him sidelined. The 33-year-old all-rounder recently returned to active cricket during the Plunket Shield, where he impressed with a career-best performance of 8 for 41 in his comeback match.

New Zealand selector Sam Wells expressed excitement about Bracewell’s return, highlighting his leadership qualities and previous captaincy experience. Wells also praised Robinson for his impressive batting performances in the Super Smash, where he emerged as the second-highest run-scorer despite missing some matches due to injury. O’Rourke’s selection was based on his strong performances in the Super Smash and previous international outings.

New Zealand is scheduled to depart for Pakistan on April 12, with the first T20I set to take place on April 18 in Rawalpindi. Rawalpindi will also host the subsequent two matches on April 20 and 21, followed by the last two matches in Lahore on April 25 and 27.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *