Trending News Guru

KKR Records Second-Highest IPL Total

KKR Records Second-Highest IPL Total

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) achieved several major records and milestones en route to their impressive total of 272 against Delhi Capitals.

The total of 272/2 by KKR is considered the second-highest in IPL history and ranks as the seventh-highest in all T20 cricket. Just a week prior, Sunrisers Hyderabad set the highest total in IPL history by scoring 277/3 against Mumbai Indians in Hyderabad.

In terms of the highest totals in IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders’ 272/7 against Delhi Capitals stands second, with Sunrisers Hyderabad’s recent 277/3 against Mumbai Indians leading the list.

The 88/1 scored by KKR during the Powerplay is the fourth-highest total in IPL history for this phase. Their highest Powerplay total remains 105/0, achieved against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bengaluru in 2017.

Kolkata Knight Riders reached a score of 135/1 at the halfway mark of their innings, ranking third-highest in IPL history. The top two positions for this milestone were taken in the recent SRH-MI encounter, with Sunrisers Hyderabad scoring 148/2 and Mumbai Indians replying with 141/2 at the end of the 10th over.

It took Kolkata Knight Riders just 15.2 overs to reach the 200-run mark, ranking third-quickest by a team in IPL history to achieve this milestone.

KKR Achieves Second-Highest IPL Total

In terms of boundaries, Knight Riders hit a total of 40 – 22 fours and 18 sixes – which is the third-highest by a team in an IPL innings. The highest number of boundaries in an innings is 42 by RCB against PWI in Bengaluru in 2013.

Sunil Narine’s contribution of 85 runs is his highest score in T20 cricket, surpassing his previous best of 79 for Trinbago Knight Riders against Barbados Royals in CPL 2017. Additionally, it surpasses his previous highest IPL score of 75 against Punjab Kings in Indore in IPL 2018.

Angkrish Raghuvanshi, at the age of 18 years and 303 days, became the youngest player to score a half-century or more on his debut innings in IPL history. This milestone surpasses the previous record held by Shreevats Goswami.

Raghuvanshi reached his fifty in just 25 balls, making it the second-quickest by any player to achieve this milestone on his debut innings in IPL history.

Finally, Kolkata Knight Riders secured a commanding victory with a winning margin of 106 runs, ranking as the ninth biggest in all IPL in terms of runs. This victory margin is also the second largest for the team, following their 140-run win against RCB in the first-ever match of IPL in 2008.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *