Trending News Guru

Ranji Trophy Semi-Finals: Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh Take Opening Day Honours

Ranji Trophy Semi-Finals: Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh Take Opening Day Honours

Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu: TN’s Poor Start Gives Mumbai the Edge

Tamil Nadu had a tough start in their semi-final against Mumbai, collapsing for just 146 on the opening day despite winning the toss. Mumbai’s Shardul Thakur struck early, dismissing Sai Sudharsan for a duck. Tushar Deshpande then took charge, claiming three wickets to leave TN reeling at 42/5. A resilient partnership between Washington Sundar and Vijay Shankar raised hopes, but Vijay’s dismissal for 44 dashed TN’s hopes. Washington fought hard for his 43, but TN were eventually all out for 146. Kuldeep Sen’s early wickets gave TN hope, but Mumbai ended the day at 45/2, trailing by 101 runs with key batsmen like Shreyas Iyer and Ajinkya Rahane yet to bat.

Brief scores: Mumbai45/2 (Musheer Khan 24*; R Sai Kishore 1/3) trail Tamil Nadu 146 (Vijay Shankar 44, Washington Sundar 43; Tushar Deshpande 3/24) by 101 runs

Vidarbha vs Madhya Pradesh: Avesh Khan Shines as MP Dominate

Avesh Khan’s four-wicket haul dismantled Vidarbha on the first day as Madhya Pradesh took control of their semi-final. Despite a solid start, Vidarbha crumbled from 68/1 to 170 all out. Karun Nair fought a lone battle, scoring a fifty, but MP’s bowlers struck at regular intervals. Umesh Yadav provided an early breakthrough for Vidarbha, but MP ended the day at 47/1, trailing by just 123 runs with nine wickets in hand. MP will aim to take a first-innings lead on day two.

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 47/1 (Himanshu Mantri 26*; Umesh Yadav 1/18) trail Vidarbha 170 (Karun Nair 63; Avesh Khan 4/49) by 123 runs

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *